OF TURTLE NECKS AND BALD HEADS

Oluwabukunmi Familoye
4 min readDec 8, 2019

--

Turtle neck syndrome also known as text syndrome is a stress injury and pain that occurs in the neck as a result of watching and texting on hand held devices continuously over a long period of time. Some of the symptoms are stiffness, headaches, muscular pain yadayada.

Photo by Quentin Keller on Unsplash

It occurs mainly among users of mobile phones and it is a growing concern for millennial.

You probably guessed right. I am not a physiotherapist. I do not know a lot about medical conditions. This article is not about that. I just found out and I thought to let you know. See a physiotherapist for more information and you are welcome. Lol. Straight to the gist…

A while back, there arose a trend about an (ex/new) Twitter Influencer- Glory Osei. It is new for me because I started to like her after the saga. Prior to this trend, I knew close to nothing about her. Perhaps, I have a thing for evil masterminds. Please help!!!

So if you do not know the story, I will give you half gist. Rumour has it that she and her husband run false businesses. They said she was a bad boss who sacked her employees all at once in a day (can you imagine?). They also said she gave an impression that she was single when in fact she was married. Twitter people said all sorts and we had people come to testify in the courts of twitter. For full gist, please go to Twitter.

Now, I am not here to prove whether she is guilty or not guilty. I just have one or two or three things to say about this matter.

· I think people forget that everyone has access to phones these days. There is no AI for scanning and revealing people’s IQ or intentions when signing up on social media. This means anyone can say anything at any time ”T” about anybody because of whatever personal and ”unpersonal” reasons. Not every story out there is true- some are half-truths, lies or a result of altered perception. We need to always keep this in mind before we jump on every news that we hear. It’s hard but we can try. We are all guilty of this especially if the news touches our affection e.g. Rape accusations for me.

It is turtle neck syndrome to rely on news that is not backed up by proper facts, evidences or something tangible at least.

· People hate what they do not understand. Once they cannot understand your business or your unconventional stance about marriage, they begin to spread hate speeches. I think it is quite simple to explain a legitimate or illegitimate business. If you do not understand, keep quiet or call for probes. I am tired of accusations that end on social media. Fraud is a crime. It is not something you laugh about online; it is a serious issue and should be treated as such. The campaign should have been something like #probeGloryOsei and @EFCC. But I think we are more interested in seeing her fall than the truth.

· Something close to point two. Treating your employees as trash is unacceptable. There are thousands of Glory Oseis (if indeed she is guilty) out there. Employers who think they can get cheap labour and use people anyhow they want. We could use this opportunity to push for laws that protect the employee (and the employer if there are none). We can ask for accountability from unions that protect the employee but again we do not care. We just want Glory Osei out of our faces because she probably was too loud and proud- turtle neck syndrome.

· It is turtle neck syndrome to pattern your life after someone on social media.

I read a tweet during the saga about a lady that broke up with her boyfriend because of Glory Osei. I cannot say I have seen a dumber act as I write this. Social media is a tool. I can decide to paint myself as something else on media and be someone else in reality.

We can learn from people but we cannot replicate other people’s achievements, comfort, happiness or peace of mind. Face your life and mind your own business. Turtle neck syndrome is believing everything you see on social media.

Get cured of turtle neck syndrome and be free.

Ciao.

--

--